What are the different types of paralysis?

On Behalf of | Dec 5, 2020 | Personal Injury

Paralysis typically happens due to nerve damage. Damage to the nerves that control muscle movement can prevent you from feeling and moving certain parts of your body. 

The Cleveland Clinic explains there are a few different ways to categorize and explain the different types of paralysis. 

Local and general paralysis

Paralysis can be local or general. General paralysis means that the paralysis affects a wide area of the body whereas local means the paralysis is in only one part of the body. 

General paralysis has severe different categories. Quadriplegia is when the arms and legs suffer paralysis. It may also include paralysis from the neck down, and it will often impact the function of the organs. Paraplegia is in the legs. It may also include the torso area right above the hips and pelvis. 

Monoplegia is when only one limb, an arm or leg, has the paralysis. Hemiplegia is when it impact sonly one side of the body, and diplegia is when it is on both sides of the body in the same area, such as both legs. 

Degrees of paralysis

Paralysis can also occur in degrees. Complete is when you lose all movement in the affected muscles. Partial is when you have some control over the affected muscles. 

Temporary is when you regain some control, whereas permanent is when you will never regain control. 

Muscle state

Your paralysis will also include an assessment of the state of your muscles. They can be spastic, which is hard and tight with jerky movements or spasms. Flaccid is when they shrink and lose definition.